Rock Scrambling


We have been on the rental search for a long time.
You may have read my article about housing on the central coast.
It is only getting worse.

For those of you who know me personally, you’re probably wondering why we’ve made so many trips to the desert lately.

It’s really strange, but I think I’ve fallen in love.

We went out there for fun, to see if I might like it.

It’s beautiful.
There are long stretches of nothing.
Then, you see these huge rolling black mountains.
Rocks piled one on top of the other in a chaotic and perfect way.

Travis took me to the Indian Cove campground on our first trip.
We drove around looking at the camping spaces for a while.
I made him stop at a particularly wonderful clump of desert flowers that I liked.

He spent summers vacationing in Joshua Tree with his family.
They camped, climbed the rocks and hiked.
My family didn’t do anything like that.

“Lets climb that pile of rocks,” he said.

I looked at where he was pointing and my mouth just dropped.
I hadn’t even considered climbing these gigantic boulders!

I watched him scramble up the rocks.
Soon, I was hopping up after him.
I don’t even know when I decided to do it.

I had to stop several times.
I stared down at our little Toyota Camry that was growing smaller and smaller in the distance and breathed deeply.

I kept going.

We made it to the very top of that pile of rocks.
We could have kept going, but my legs had turned to jelly.

I couldn’t stand up at the top.
I had to crouch on my knees smiling like an idiot.
How exhilarating!

 

DAILY PROMPT

Natural

 

 

Leave a Reply

